[Minutes are temporary until finally approved at 2014 Annual Meeting]

HORSEHEAD LAKE PROTECTION & REHABILITATION DISTRICT #1 ANNUAL MEETING AUGUST 17, 2013

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson, Dennis Batchelet in the Peterson Room of the Sloan Community Center, Lake Tomahawk, WI at 9:04 a.m.

Present: Chairperson, Dennis Batchelet, Treasurer, Tim Desmond, Oneida County Supervisor, Tom Rudolph, Lake Tomahawk Supervisor, George DeMet.

Chairperson Batchelet introduced the commission members. Meeting attendees introduced themselves.

Motion/2nd (M/2nd) Mary Ellen Zickus/Jim Watters to approve the agenda for the meeting. Motion carried.

M/2nd Mike Esler/Hallie Moline to approve minutes of August 18, 2012 Annual Meeting. Motion carried.

Chairperson Batchelet circulated a volunteer sign-up sheet, explained Roberts' Rules, and the Close Debate motion, and announced that the next Annual Meeting will be held August 16, 2014.

Chairperson Batchelet's Report:

The aeration system is working well but the pods are approaching their normal life-expectancy.

10,590 people have used our website. Use is growing.

On August 20, 2013, the DNR will stock Horsehead Lake with 9,000 more bass. Another 9,000 bass will be stocked in 2014.

At next year's Annual Meeting the commissioners would like to change our fiscal year from the date of the Annual Meeting to September1 of every year.

A comparison of weeds cut this year to weeds cut last year was given. 191% more tons of weeds were cut this year over last year.

2012 35 acres cut 72 hours 44 loads 110 tons 2013 58 acres cut 91 hours 84 loads 210 tons

40% of the weeds were elodea, 25% flat stem pond weed, and 30% coontail. The Lake Grant II has concluded and Eurasian Water Milfoil (EWM) and Curly-Leaf Pondweed (CLP) have been mapped. CLP does not seem to be a problem but professional monitoring every 3-5 years is recommended by Tim Hoyman, Aquatic Ecologist with Onterra, LLC. EWM was found in new areas but at very low occurrence so herbicide treatments are not necessary. Hoyman recommended the district contact Oneida County AIS Coordinator, Michelle Saduaskas, to receive training on identification, monitoring, and hand removal of EWM. EWM should be hand removed prior to weed harvesting and remapped by professionals in approximately 3 years. Cards

with a photo of EWM were distributed. All lake residents are to watch for EWM and report it immediately to the Chairperson. Divers will be hired to hand pull the weeds. Outlot A on Trout Road has been sold and the new owner may not permit weed harvesting from the lot. There are nine residents who have deeded legal access to that lot. An alternative site for weed harvesting is being sought. M/2nd Jim Watters/Tim Desmond to allocate money to seek legal counsel regarding the use/sale of Outlot A. Motion carried. M/2nd Tim Desmond/Jim Watters to create a committee to investigate the deeded access lots prior to contacting legal counsel. Motion carried. A list of Lake District residents was distributed.

Treasurer Tim Desmond's Report:

See attached report. Treasurer Desmond has set up e-payment of bills and has digitized our financial records. Jim Watters M/2nd/Bev Fagan to accept the Treasurer's report. Motion carried

Hans Delius did an audit of the financial records and reported all is in order. M/2nd Dennis Batchelet/Tom Rudolph to accept the audit report. Motion carried.

Currently there is no secretary on the board due to the early resignation of Joe Helmuth. Dennis Batchelet thanked Beverly Fagan and Linda Delius for their assistance during the interim.

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Horsehead Lake Deep Hole 2012 test results were distributed. Average summer Secchi disk reading was 7.5 feet and the lake was eutrophic. Mike Esler reported that clarity was very poor in June but has improved greatly since then.

Hallie Moline, our Clean Boats/Clean Waters volunteer, reported fewer fishermen this year.

M/2nd Tim Desmond/Mike Esler made to amend the constitution to delete a requirement that at least one elected commissioner is a "resident". ("Resident" has been interpreted as a year-round resident.) Motion carried. Amended M/2nd Tom Rudolph/Tim Desmond to delete only if there is no conflict with State Chapter 33. Motion carried. Later inspection of Wisconsin Constitution shows that if a candidate living within the District is not available, the residency requirement is waived, but only until that term has expired. (WI statute, Ch. 33:28(2m)(b).

Dennis Batchelet recommended posting newsletters on the website in lieu of mailings. Discussion led to the recommendation that residents be mailed an "opt in" form to relinquish their snail-mail in favor of notices on the website only.

M/2nd Bev Fagan/Halle Moline to authorize aerator maintenance and inspections. Motion carried.

Tim Desmond presented the 2013-2014 budget proposal. M/2nd Bev Fagan/Mike Esler to increase attorney fees by \$1,500 to \$2,000. Motion carried. M/2nd Jim Watters/Mary Ellen Zickus to accept the budget with that change. Motion carried.

Dolores Kania distributed ballots for the election of two commissioners – a one year term to complete the secretary's vacancy and a three year term. Nominees were Dennis Batchelet and Mike Esler. Both received a unanimous 21 votes.

The 2014 Annual Meeting will be Saturday, August 16, 2014.

County Board Supervisor, Tom Rudolph, reported that we have a "top-notch" AIS coordinator in Michelle Saduaskas. He said he works with several lake associations and ours is by far the best, with many thanks and praise for our Chairperson, Dennis Batchelet.

Town Supervisor George DeMet also complimented the board and Dennis Batchelet. He said Pigeon Road will be moved over, repaved this fall, and remain a two-lane road.

The attendance and volunteer sign-up sheets were collected. Hallie Moline volunteered for Clean Boats/Clean Waters. Mike and Kim Esler volunteered for Secchi monitoring and lake water testing. Bev Fagan and Dolores Kania volunteered for auditing the books. The volunteers to do preliminary investigation of deeds for Outlot A are Paul and Deb Bursik, Lynn Gourley, Bev Fagan, Mike Esler and Hans Delius.

Two residents are still needed to serve on the Nominating Committee. Next year we will be electing a Secretary for a full three-year term.

 $M/2^{nd}$ Jim Watters/Hans Delius to adjourn at 11:21 a.m. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Linda Delius